Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance registration period Tuesday, April 14 -
Friday, April 24
Classes begin Tuesday, September 1
Labor Day Monday, September 7
(no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars Friday, September 11
Last day to add a course Tuesday, September 15
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Tuesday, September 15
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Tuesday, September 15
Fall term break
Saturday classes will not meet
Thursday, October 1 -
Sunday, October 4
Fall term break ends; classes resume Monday, October 5
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form) Monday, October 12
Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Friday, October 30
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, November 2 -
Sunday, November 15
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form) Monday, November 9
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 24 &
Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving break begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving break ends; classes resume Monday, November 30
Fall term classes end Thursday, December 10
Reading days Friday, December 11 -
Monday, December 14
Final examinations Tuesday, December 15 -
Tuesday, December 22
Fall term ends Tuesday, December 22
Fels MPA
Ready to learn more?
Sign up to receive details about Fels programs and events
Fels MPA
Fels in the community
Our students, alumni, and faculty are committed to making change
Fels MPA
World-class instruction
The Fels community includes expert Penn scholars and seasoned practitioners

Fels Institute of Government

The Fels Institute of Government
3814 Walnut St. 
Philadelphia, PA 19104

(215) 898-7326
felsinstitute@sas.upenn.edu